A brief history of the Institute



The Institute of Metallurgy and Ore Beneficiation was established in 1945 in accordance with the Decree of the Council of People's Commissars of the Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic of December 6, 1944 and the Presidium of the Kazakh branch of the Academy of Sciences of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics No. 689 of May 15, 1945. Its creation was dictated by the need for scientific- technological support of the organization of new non-ferrous metal productions in Kazakhstan.

Since 2016, the The Institute of Metallurgy and Ore Beneficiation is a part of the Kazakh National Research Technical University after K. I. Satbayev (Satpaev University).

Today the Institute of Metallurgy and Ore Beneficiation – is a major scientific center of the Republic of Kazakhstan, carrying out fundamental and applied research, development and technological development in the field of mineral raw materials, metallurgy and materials science of structural materials.

The Institute has experimental metallurgical production to test the developed technologies on the designed and manufactured pilot plants.

At present, 206 people work at the Institute, including 72 researchers and 52 engineers and technicians, including 7 doctors of science, 32 candidates of sciences, 4 PhD.

Our services

«Institute of metallurgy and ore beneficiation» JSC provides the following types of services:

Research on samples of various materials in an accredited National Research Laboratory for collective use: with the definition of chemical and phase compositions, mechanical properties (strength, plasticity, hardness); with conducting metallographic, mineralogical, thermal and microprobe analyzes.

Preparation of samples for various types of analysis and testing: grinding to various sizes; dissolution; preparation of thin sections with resin filling; Grinding samples from metals and alloys for mechanical testing; pressing tablets from powders; spraying thin films of various metals and alloys; melting and casting of metals and alloys; heat treatment in various environments and in vacuum; sandblasting; argon arc and spot welding; 3D printing photopolymer resins. Design and manufacture of non-standard laboratory equipment. (NATIONAL LABORATORY)

Our technology

Vacuum thermal technology of demercurization of used fluorescent lamps


Vacuum technology and equipment of a continuous principle of action have been developed, which, in comparison with the used methods of processing mercury-containing raw materials in vacuum in batch devices, can significantly increase the recovery of mercury and sharply reduce its mechanical losses and emissions to the environment. The technology is reagent-free, and its implementation in a continuously operating equipment can significantly reduce the overhead cost of thermal energy.

News

September 20, 2022

Vth International Symposium «Fundamental aspects of rare-earth and precious metals of geology exploration, mining, separation and modern materials engineering»

September 16-18, Almaty, Republic of Kazakstan The purpose of the Symposium is to increase the […]
May 31, 2022

Significant achievement of our scientists

At JSC “Institute of Metallurgy and Ore Benefication” of Satbayev University, scientists have developed an […]
May 30, 2022

XVI International Conference on waste management, utilization, and recycling of waste and sanitation of polluted areas

From November 9 to 11, 2022 in Leoben (Austria) will be the fifteenth meeting of […]

CUMR



Complex Use of Mineral Raw Materials


The magazine "Complex Use of Mineral Raw Materials" was established in 1978. Currently, the only owner and publisher of the journal is «Institute of metallurgy and ore beneficiation» JSC MES RK (Almaty, Republic of Kazakhstan)

Краткая история института



Институт металлургии и обогащения создан в 1945 г. в соответствии с Постановлением Совета Народных Комиссаров Казахской Советской Социалистической Республики от 6 декабря 1944 г. и Президиума Казахского филиала Академии наук Союза Советских Социалистических Республик №689 от 15 мая 1945 г. Создание его диктовалось необходимостью научно-технологического сопровождения организации новых производств цветных металлов в Казахстане.

С 2016 года Институт металлургии и обогащения входит в состав Казахского национального исследователького технического университета имени К.И. Сатпаева (Satbayev University).

Сегодня «Институт металлургии и обогащения» – крупный научный центр Республики Казахстан, осуществляющий фундаментальные и прикладные исследования, опытно-конструкторские и технологические разработки в области обогащения минерального сырья, металлургии и материаловедения.

При Институте имеется Опытно-экспериментальное металлургическое производство для проведения испытаний разработанных технологий.

В настоящее время в ИМиО работают 206 человек, в том числе 72 научных сотрудника и 52 инженерно-технических работника, среди которых 7 докторов наук, 32 кандидата наук, 4 PhD.

Наши Услуги

АО «ИМиО» предоставляет следующие виды услуг:

Выполнение работ по исследованию образцов различных материалов в аккредитованной Национальной научной лаборатории коллективного пользования: с определением химического и фазового составов, механических свойств (прочность, пластичность, твердость); с проведением металлографического, минералогического, термического и микрозондового анализов.
Подготовка проб к различным видам анализа и испытаний: измельчение до различной крупности; растворение; подготовка шлифов с заливкой в смолы; вытачивание проб из металлов и сплавов для механических испытаний; прессование таблеток из порошков; напыление тонких пленок различных металлов и сплавов; плавка и литье металлов и сплавов; термическая обработка в различных средах и в вакууме; пескоструйная обработка; аргонно-дуговая и точечная сварка; 3D-печать фотополимерными смолами. Разработка и изготовление не стандартного лабораторного оборудования.(Национальная научная лаборатория)

Наши технологии

Вакуумтермическая технология демеркуризации отработанных люминесцентных ламп


Разработаны вакуумная технология и аппаратура непрерывного принципа действия, которые по сравнению с используемыми способами переработки ртутьсодержащего сырья в вакууме в аппаратах периодического действия, позволяют значительно повысить извлечение ртути и резко сократить её механические потери и выбросы в окружающую среду. Технология является безреагентной, а её осуществление в непрерывно действующей аппаратуре позволяет существенно снизить непроизводительные затраты тепловой энергии.

Новости

Июль 23, 2019

Глава МОН РК встретился с руководителями НИИ и молодыми учеными

11 июля 2019 г., в городе Алматы в здании Ғылым Ордасы Министр образования и науки […]
Июль 23, 2019

К 90-летию академика РАН и НАН РК Аскара Минлиахмедовича Кунаева

14 июля 2019 года талантливому ученому и крупному организатору науки, академику РАН и академику НАН […]
Май 31, 2019

Посещение Технологической Корпорации BGRIMM г. Пекин (КНР)

В период c 23 по 26 мая 2019 года Генеральный директор АО «Институт металлургии и […]

КИМС



Комплексное использование минерального сырья


Журнал «Комплексное использование минерального сырья» учрежден в 1978 году. В настоящее время единственным собственником и издателем журнала является АО «Институт металлургии и обогащения» МОН РК (г. Алматы, Республика Казахстан).